Quick Answer: Why Does My IPhone Archive Instead Of Delete?

How do I change Archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings.

Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete.

Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages..

How do I change from archive to delete on iPhone email?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

Do archived text messages get deleted?

Archive text conversations, calls or voicemail messages You can hide a conversation from your inbox without deleting it. If someone replies to a conversation that you’ve archived, the messages will appear again in your inbox.

Do archived messages take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. … Your storage use is based on the size of all of the messages and attachments in your mail, including those in Spam and Trash.

How do I get rid of not archive?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+). See the delete icon when you view messages….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

Is archive the same as delete?

A. The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again.

Why is it so hard to delete emails on iPhone?

If you use Mail on your iPhone or iPad, then you’ve probably noticed it’s considerably difficult to delete messages — by default, there’s only an Archive button. … As you can see, there’s no option to delete the message from a mailbox. You can mark, move, or archive it. Deleting a message is just not an option.

What is the purpose of archiving?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Why does my iPhone say archive and not delete?

By default in iOS, Gmail is set to archive your emails as opposed to deleting them. Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash. … You are going to change where it says “Move Discarded Messages Into:” by tapping on the word Deleted Mailbox.

What happens if I delete the mail app on my iPhone?

When the Mail app gets deleted on an iPhone, any of the email accounts you linked to it will be switched to inactive even after you reinstall the app. To make them active again, open the Settings app and tap Accounts & Passwords.

How do I change Archive to delete in iOS 13?

You’re not seeing a delete option and an archive option instead, because your deleted emails location is set as Archive. This can be changed under the following settings: Settings > Account & Password > Tap on Account > Advanced > Select Deleted Mailbox; after that, it will mass delete the emails.

How do you delete emails on iPhone not archive?

How to set Gmail to delete instead of archive in Mail on iPhone and iPadOpen Settings.Swipe down and tap Passwords & Accounts.Tap your Gmail account.Select Account.Tap Advanced.Now below Move Discarded Messages Into: tap Deleted Mailbox.

How do I delete all archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

How do I permanently delete messages from iPhone?

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchIn a message conversation, touch and hold the message bubble or attachment that you want to delete.Tap More.Tap Trash , then tap Delete Message. If you want to delete all messages in the thread tap Delete All, in the upper-left corner. Then tap Delete Conversation.

How do you delete instead of archive on iPhone?

Archive instead of deleteGo to Settings > Mail, then tap Accounts.Tap your email account, tap Mail (below Advanced), then tap Advanced.In the Advanced settings, change the destination mailbox for discarded emails to Archive Mailbox.